7th International Conference on Digital Libraries for Musicology

16 October 2020

Schulich School of Music, McGill University, Montréal, Canada

A satellite event of ISMIR 2020.

The Digital Libraries for Musicology (DLfM) conference presents a venue for those engaging with Digital Library systems and content in the domain of music and musicology.

Following the success of six annual conferences, the 7th DLfM will be hosted by McGill University, once again as a satellite event of ISMIR. Watch this website and @TransformingMusicology for news and announcements.

The conference objectives are:

  • to act as a forum for reporting, presenting, evaluating and dusseminating work combining technology with musicology through Digital Library systems;
  • to critically evaluate the operation of Music Digital Libraries and the applications and findings that flow from them;
  • to re-evaluate existing Music Digital Libraries, particularly in light of the transformative methods and applications emerging from musicology, large collections of both audio and music related data, ‘big data’ method, and MIR;
  • to explore how digital libraries and digital musicology can combine to offer richer online access to online music collections;
  • to set the agenda for work in the field to address these new challenges and opportunities.

Important dates

  • Paper submission deadline: TBC (June 2020)
  • Notification of acceptance: TBC (early August)
  • Conference: 16th October 2020

Conference organisation

Programme Chair

David Lewis, Goldsmiths, University of London

General Chair

David Rizo, Universidad de Alicante. Instituto Superior de Enseñanzas Artísticas de la Comunidad Valenciana

Local Chairs

Audrey Laplante, McGill University, Montréa

Ichiro Fujinaga, McGill University, Montréal

Programme Committee

To include:

  • Alessandro Adamou, The Open University
  • Islah Ali-Maclachlan, Birmingham City University
  • Claire Arthur, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Houman Behzadi, Marvin Duchow Music Library, McGill University
  • Jorge Calvo-Zaragoza, Unversity of Alicante
  • Estefania Cano, Fraunhofer
  • Rafael Caro Repetto, Music Technology Group, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona
  • Tim Crawford, Goldsmiths University of London
  • Julie E. Cumming, McGill University
  • Cécile Davy-Rigaux, IReMus
  • Teresa Delgado, Biblioteca Nacional de España
  • Jürgen Diet, Bavarian State Library
  • J. Stephen Downie, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Loukia Drosopoulou, The British Library
  • Timothy Duguid, University of Glasgow
  • Francesca Giannetti, Rutgers University
  • Xiao Hu, The University of Hong Kong
  • Jose M. Iñesta, Universidad de Alicante
  • Kjell Lemström, University of Helsinki
  • Cynthia Liem, Delft University of Technology
  • Joshua Neumann, University of Florida
  • Kevin Page, University of Oxford
  • Laurent Pugin, RISM Switzerland
  • Amelie Roper, Cambridge University Library
  • Sertan Şentürk, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Raffaele Viglianti, University of Maryland
  • Frans Wiering, Utrecht University
List of site pages